Senate Committees

Duties of the Committee Chairs

The duty of the committee chair is to preside over committee meetings. Each committee chair is responsible for scheduling weekly meeting times and recording the minutes. The committee chairs make up the Executive Committee, along with the Executive Committee Chair. 

The following committee Meetings are open to the public

Time and locations are subject to change. Please check our Calendar for updates.


The Executive Committee makes funding recommendations to the Senate regarding the student travel applications.  The committee reviews the ASUAF budget each spring and reviews all legislation proposing the allocation of funds. 

Meeting Time: Sunday @ 3pm

Location: ASUAF Office - Senate Chambers

Committee Chair: Sierra Von Hafften

Current Members: Dougherty, Ramstad, Smith, Boswell

Internal Affairs

This committee plans the biannual retreat, where the ASUAF bylaws and rules of procedure are reviewed.  They also review all legislation that proposes changes to these documents.

Meeting Time: Thursday @ 12pm

Location: ASUAF Office - Senate Chambers

Committee Chair: Daniel Dougherty 

Current Members: Von Hafften, Kirby, James, Boswell, Ramstad

Public Relations

The public relations committee deals with public relation aspects of ASUAF, which typically includes the purchasing of advertisements or promotional items, or public events. The Public Relations Committee, in conjunction with the Government Relations Council, reviews the applications for the annual legislative advocacy conference in Juneau.

Meeting Time: Friday @ 4pm 

Location: ASUAF Office - Senate Chambers

Committee Chair: Diana Ramstad

Current Members:  James, Smith, Dougherty

Student Affairs

The Student Affairs Committee plans various events during the academic year and generates questions to ask students during the general elections.

Meeting Time: Monday @ 10:30am

Location: ASUAF Office - Senate Chambers

Committee Chair: Hannah Smith

Current Members: Bolduc, Palmer, Sinnok, Ramstad,